UPDATED: 2018 Fall Tryout Information

Dates, times, and coach contact information for all Upper School students interested in trying out for a fall sport.
*UPDATED!*
Tryouts for fall varsity teams begin on Monday 8/20, with JV the following week (with the exception of Cross country, Football and Volleyball). Dates, times and contact info is provided by sport.

FALL TRYOUTS
All athletes must complete all required Magnus Health information (online portal) prior to the first day of tryouts. In addition, all athletes must sign and turn in the extracurricular participation contract by the first day of tryouts.

CROSS COUNTRY:
  • Practice for all interested runners begins on Monday 8/20 from 8:00-10:00am by the US track. Runners interested in attending the Shrine Mont trip will depart on the morning of Tuesday 8/21 and will return on Thursday 8/23.
  • Head Coach: Coach Shawn Cotter scotter@sssas.org

FIELD HOCKEY:
  • Tryouts for Varsity Field Hockey players will begin on Monday 8/20 from 8:00-11:15am on the US track, followed by Kelleher field. All players trying out for varsity will leave for the preseason trip on Tuesday 8/21. Players interested in trying out for varsity should contact Head Coach Dionna Jordan djordan@sssas.org
  • Tryouts for JV Field Hockey players will begin on Monday 8/27 from 3:00-6:00 at the Upper School campus.
  • Head JV Coach: Coach Stacey Williams swilliams@sssas.org

FOOTBALL
  • Equipment handout for all football players will begin on Friday 8/10 at 9:00am. Practice will begin on Saturday 8/11 from 8:30am-4:30pm (players should bring a lunch). Players attending the preseason trip will leave on Monday 8/13 and return Thursday 8/16.
  • Head Varsity Coach: Coach Bernard Joseph bjoseph@sssas.org

GIRLS SOCCER:
  • Tryouts for those interested in varsity will begin on Monday 8/20 from 8:00-10:00am at the Upper School. The first day will be JV tryouts will begin on Monday 8/27 from 4:00-5:30pm at the Upper School Campus.
  • Head Varsity Coach: Coach Chris Arnold carnold@sssas.org
  • Head JV Coach: Therese Franco tifranco@email.wm.edu

BOYS SOCCER:
  • Tryouts for those interested in varsity will begin on Monday 8/20 from 4:00 to 6:00pm on Kelleher Field at the Upper School. JV tryouts will begin on Monday 8/27 from 4:00 to 6:00pm at the Upper School campus.
  • Head Varsity Coach: Coach Josh McCave jmccave@sssas.org
  • Head JV Coach: Coach John Sweeney jsweeney@sssas.org

GIRLS TENNIS:
  • Tryouts for those interested in varsity will begin on Monday 8/20 from 9:30-11:30am at the Upper School tennis courts. JV tryouts will begin Monday 8/27 from 3:30-5:00pm at the Upper School tennis courts.
  • Head Varsity Coach: Coach Jon Japha jjapha@sssas.org
  • JV Coaches: Coach Andy Carr acarr@sssas.org and Coach Mandi Sapp msapp@sssas.org

VOLLEYBALL:
  • Practice for all interested volleyball players (V & JV) will begin on Monday 8/20 from 9:00-12:00pm in the Upper School gym.
  • Head Varsity Coach: Coach Edina Chinn echinn@sssas.org
  • Head JV Coach: Coach Jenn Forbes jforbes@sssas.org

For other questions, please contact Stephanie Koroma (Athletic Director for Girls at skoroma@sssas.org) or Jeff Walrich (Athletic Director for Boys at jwalrich@sssas.org). We look forward to seeing everyone in August!
 
Back
JK-12 coed Episcopal day school in Alexandria, Virginia

Campuses

List of 3 items.

  • Lower School

    Grades: JK-5
    400 Fontaine Street
    Alexandria, Virginia 22302
  • Middle School

    Grades: 6-8
    4401 West Braddock Road
    Alexandria, Virginia 22304
  • Upper School

    Grades: 9-12
    1000 St. Stephen's Road
    Alexandria, Virginia 22304